broccoli pasta alfredo

April 30, 2008 at 5:19 pm 3 comments


vegan broccoli pasta alfredo

This is the second time I have made this dish and I really love it. I love the creaminess of the alfredo sauce and the fresh broccoli in this pasta. The last time I made this sauce, I wasn’t sure if it would turn out well again, but it was quite easy this time and I’m feeling more comfortable making non-dairy sauces.

I hate cooking with 3 or 4 different pots and pans for one dish, so I try to combine what I can when cooking. First, I boiled the (angel hair) pasta and chopped fresh broccoli together. While the pasta was boiling, I began with the base of the sauce.

Start by warming a couple Tbs of (earth balance) vegan buttery spread, then add 1-2 cloves of minced garlic. Sauté until light golden. I then added a few Tbs of whole wheat flour, stirring well to a creamy paste, slowly adding soy milk for the amount you would like to make. Stir well and add 1-2 Tbs of Tofutti cream cheese, parmesan (I use rice parmesan), salt & pepper to taste. I also add about a Tbs of ground flax seed. Continue to stir the sauce on low heat, while you drain the pasta & broccoli. Add pasta & broccoli and fold into the sauce. I also added a Tbs of chopped parsley because I love the lemony-peppery taste.

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch, pasta, recipes, veggies. Tags: .

pasta salad taco salad

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristan  |  June 17, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    This looks really delicious. I’m currently a vegetarian wannabe. I really get grossed out by meat and I try not to make it as often as possible. I am going to try this out! The only thing I’ll need to pick up from the store is the tofutti. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 2. melissa  |  June 18, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Thanks Kristan! That is great that you’re going to try this dish. I’m sure you’ll love the tofutti cream cheese also, I cannot tell the difference! I hope you enjoy the dish.

    Reply
  • 3. squash alfredo « daily veggie  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    [...] we have been enjoying dishes with these fresh veggies. I made this pasta with the same method as my broccoli alfredo pasta. One of these days, I will perfectly measure out how I make this pasta & vegan alfredo [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


daily veggie

a vegetarian food blog * all images © Copyright 2008-12 dailyveggie. All rights reserved. *
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Top Posts

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

