Archive for November 3, 2008

buckwheat sprouts

Here is our first batch of buckwheat sprouts.

I adore these sprouts because they grow very long and have beautiful green leafy tops.  Unfortunately, I’ve learned that these healthy good for you sprouts can also be toxic.  What the heck?!  I’m still learning a lot about them.  But, from what I have read so far, if you eat too many buckwheat sprouts, as in juicing large quantities every day, you could suffer from a skin irritation/sun sensitivity called fagopyrism.  The best article I have been able to find will give you fantastic information and a personal account of the toxicity can be found here, Are Buckwheat Greens Toxic? by Gilles Arbour.

I will continue to eat buckwheat sprouts because they do have a lot of nutritional value.  I eat my sprouts raw in salads, soups and pastas in small quantities (a small handful).  Just something to be aware of, know why you eat the food you do, the good & the bad.

November 3, 2008 at 1:27 pm 1 comment


daily veggie

a vegetarian food blog * all images © Copyright 2008-12 dailyveggie. All rights reserved. *
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.